Mark Sullivan Named 2021 PBA50 Dick Weber Sportsmanship Award Winner

Voted most sportsmanlike by his fellow PBA50 Tour competitors

New York, NY – Mark Sullivan of Indianapolis was voted by his peers to receive the 2021 PBA50 Dick Weber Sportsmanship Award, given to the player who best exemplifies the class and sportsmanship for which Weber was known during his career as a bowler and tournament director.

“I’m speechless,” said Sullivan. “It’s incredibly humbling to even be considered. Dick was one of my idols and he was so gracious to me when I got started in the Midwest Region in the early eighties. I’m totally blown away to receive an award named after him.”

Voting was open to PBA50 players who participated in at least half the 2021 PBA50 Tour events. The 95 eligible players first nominated deserving candidates, then voted on the five players who received the most nominations. Sullivan earned the award over fellow nominees Dick Gran, Jeff Johnson, Parker Bohn III and Lennie Boresch Jr.

“Those guys are all true professionals,” said Sullivan. “They conduct themselves with class and are great competitors. It’s an honor to be considered among that group.”

Sullivan competed in 13 events on the 2021 PBA50 Tour, cashing in 11 of them and posting a best finish of sixth in the PBA50 Granville Financial Open.

“When you’re competing, you’re kind of in your own little world,” said Sullivan. “I’m not aware of anything in particular I’ve done that would be deserving of this honor, but maybe that’s why I’m so surprised. It’s very humbling.”

Dick Weber, who, like Sullivan, was born in Indianapolis, was a founding member of the Professional Bowlers Association and won 30 PBA titles in his career, including four majors. Weber is considered by many to be the greatest ambassador bowling has ever seen and his name is appropriately attached to the PBA50’s sportsmanship award, first given out in 2008.

Previous PBA50 Dick Weber Sportsmanship Award Winners

2020 – no winner (season canceled)
2019 – Sammy Ventura
2018 – Chris Keane
2017 – Ted Staikoff
2016 – Kerry Fulford
2015 – Tom Carter
2014 – Chris Keane
2013 – Robert Harvey
2012 – Dave Soutar
2011 – Ray Randall
2010 – Robert Harvey
2009 – Larry Graybeal
2008 – Fred Baldwin

About the PBA

The Professional Bowlers Association (PBA) is the world’s preeminent organization dedicated to the sport of bowling and its professional competition, with thousands of members and millions of fans throughout the world. The PBA plays host to bowling’s biggest tournaments from the PBA Tour, PBA Regional Tour, and PBA50 Tour. In 2020, the PBA launched PBA Jr., a club for elite youth bowlers under the age of 17 and the PBA Pinsiders, a membership for fans of the sport. For more information, please visit




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s