ARLINGTON, Texas – Zachary Lewis of Medina, Ohio, has been selected as the 2021 Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award winner by the International Bowling Campus Youth Committee.

The annual award recognizes star qualities in a United States Bowling Congress Youth member, including distinguished bowling performances on the local, state and national levels, academic achievement and community involvement. Applicants must be a male high school senior or college student.

Lewis, 18, receives a $6,000 scholarship as this year’s award recipient.

“The Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award is more than just about bowling and academics,” Lewis said. “It provides an outlet to bring attention to community service, which often goes unnoticed. I have achieved success in many of the bowling circles I have been part of for the past 10 years, but I am far from being the best bowler. Grades have always taken priority, but there will always be someone smarter. What I am most proud of is being able to serve others. Even the smallest of things can make a big difference. I have been blessed with many opportunities in my life, and this scholarship is one of them.”

A senior at Medina High School, Lewis holds a 4.3 GPA, placing him 28th in a class of more than 530 students. He has taken an Advanced Placement course in computer science principles, multiple College Credit Plus courses and honors classes in language arts, geometry, algebra II/trigonometry, pre-calculus, Spanish IV, American history, world history, physical science, biology and physics.

He has been on the honor roll in each of his four years at Medina High School and has been part of the National Honor Society as a junior and senior. Lewis also is on pace to graduate with an Ohio Academic Honors Diploma.

Lewis has served as an academic tutor at the Joyce B. Ebner Volunteer Tutoring Center at Medina High School during his junior and senior years, helping his fellow classmates with Spanish, math and science. He also has been extremely active in volunteer and outreach programs in his community and is scheduled to travel to Costa Rica in June 2021 to help the Roblealto Child Care Association to work with children in critical situations.

Lewis has bowled since he was 8 years old and joined the newly formed Medina High School bowling team as a freshman. The program went from not winning a match that season to advancing to the district tournament in Lewis’ sophomore and junior seasons. During his junior year, he became the first bowler from Medina High School to qualify for the Ohio High School Athletic Association State Bowling Championships, where he finished in 12th place.

He has earned multiple distinctions while competing for Medina High School and was named the 2020 Medina County Athletic Administrators Association All-Tournament Team MVP.

Lewis plans to attend Bowling Green State University in the fall to study criminal justice, with a specialization in forensic investigation.

“Real success is being the best you can be while encouraging others to find their true worth,” Lewis said. “Lessons in success learned through academics, bowling and community service has opened doors I never could have imagined.”

Lewis will be recognized in April during the virtual 2021 USBC Convention.

This year’s award ceremony, which includes a variety of awards for youth and adult bowlers, will take place virtually April 28 from 6 p.m.-7:30 p.m. Eastern.

A similar presentation will be held at the same time April 27 for award winners from 2020. The 2020 Convention was canceled due to COVID-19.

Visit BOWL.com/ScholarshipsAwards for more information on scholarship opportunities for youth bowlers.

Year, winner, hometown
1980 Chris Whitty, Simonton, Texas
1981 Drew Barthle, Tampa, Fla.
1982 Ricky Corona, Oakland, Calif.
1983 Dan Nadeau, Las Vegas
1984 Robert Beck, Houston
1985 Justin Hromek, Andover, Kan.
1986 Pat Healey, Wichita, Kan.
1987 Mark Fisser, Buena Park, Calif.
1988 Bradley Joinetz, San Antonio, Texas
1989 Lonnie Waliczek, Wichita, Kan.
1990 Jason McCarty, Fultondale, Ala.
1991 Chris Williams, Anchorage, Alaska
1992 Robert Smith, Moorpark, Calif.
1993 Vince Biondo, Hoffman Estates, Ill.
1994 Michael Mullin, New City, N.Y.
1995 John Miller, Wichita, Kan.
1996 David Eisenberg, Kendall Park, N.J.
1997 Todd Filter, Cedarburg, Wis.
1998 James (Eddie) Kirtley, Bowling Green, Ky.
1999 Andrew Cain, Glendale, Ariz.
2000 Scott Norton, Cypress, Calif.
2001 Sean Rash, Anchorage, Alaska
2002 Nathan Bohr, Austin, Texas
2003 Marc D’Errico, Rochester, N.Y.
2004 Patrick Haggerty, Weimar, Calif.
2005 Brandon Temple, Tempe, Ariz.
2006 Eric Helmrich, Saint Leonard, Md.
2007 Jonathan Buckert, Rochester, N.Y.
2008 Kyle Kahlden, Houston
2009 Chris Bardol, Brockport, N.Y.
2010 Andrew Koff, Miami, Fla.
2011 Brent Bowers, Mulvane, Kan.
2012 Kyle Anderson, Lockport, Ill.
2013 Joey Kopera, Orland Park, Ill.
2014 Derick Holmes, Wichita, Kan.
2015 Anthony Sidari, Hazleton, Pa.
2016 Jack Cook, Denville, N.J.
2017 Carson Opela, Rio Rancho, N.M.
2018 Alex Olendorff, St. Louis, Mo.
2019 Trace Nuss of Tampa, Fla.
2020 Ryan Gatton, Owensboro, Ky.
2021 Zachary Lewis, Medina, Ohio

About International Bowling Campus
The International Bowling Campus (IBC) is the headquarters for the bowling industry and directly serves the more than 69 million bowlers in the United States. The IBC houses the resources of the United States Bowling Congress, the governing body and membership organization for the sport; the Bowling Proprietors’ Association of America, representing the business interests of bowling centers; IBC Youth Development; Strike Ten Entertainment, the marketing arm for the industry; the International Bowling Museum and Hall of Fame; the International Bowling Pro Shop and Instructors Association; the International Bowling Media Association; the Bowling News Network; the Billiard and Bowling Institute of America; Bowlers Journal International and Bowling Center Management, the industry’s premier magazines; and the International Training and Research Center.

# # #


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

About Me

Brian grew up in New York before moving to Phoenix, AZ in 1991. He has been involved in writing for his own bowling publication called “Striking Spotlight.” He has been published in the Desert Bowler Newspaper, Windy City News Newspaper and the Bowlers Journal. Hirsch is a Youth Director in the Kenosha USBC and a former Director for the Metro Phoenix USBC. As a Level 1 and RVP USBC coach, he can be found coaching his wife Amber and their son Masen each Saturday morning. Hirsch currently has (6) 300’s and (4) 800’s and is a member of the International Gay Bowling Organization where he is a five-time IGBO Champion and a six-time Arizona State Grand Canyon State Games Medalist. The Hirsch’s moved to Wisconsin to be closer to family and assist the Freedom Farm for Vets. Hirsch’s home bowling center is Sheridan Lanes, located in Kenosha, WI.


%d bloggers like this: