New York, NY – After the most unprecedented year in PBA history, the PBA Regional program is excited to announce the 2020 award recipients honoring Player of the Year, Sr. Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Pat Patterson Award winners in six of its seven domestic regions, combining the Northwest/West for the shortened season.

Despite an unusual season, the PBA’s Regional players continued to show up and compete, making this years’ awards extra special for seasoned and rookie bowlers alike.

Player of the Year honors will award each region’s top standard and senior player, while the Rookie of the Year honors will go to each region’s top performing bowler in their first-season.

The Pat Patterson Award recipients are recognized for contributions to the regional program. Award winners were selected by the PBA’s regional managers: Russ Mills, East Region; Sam Zurich, South Region; Bobby Jakel, Central Region; Toby Contreras, Midwest Region, Pete McCordic, Southwest Region, and Josh Blancard, West and Northwest Regions.

Here are the 2020 PBA Regional Award winners:

Player of the Year – Darren Tang of Las Vegas
Rookie of the Year – Deo Benard, Henderson, Nevada
Senior Player of the Year – John Gould, Yuba City, Calif.
Pat Patterson – Mike Monyak of Las Vegas

Player of the Year – AJ Johnson, Oswego, Ill.
Rookie of the Year – Matt Russo, Fairview Heights, Ill.
Senior Player of the Year – John Marsala, St. Louis, Mo.
Pat Patterson – Jerry Morano, Lombard, Ill.

Player of the Year – AJ Chapman, Lewisville, Tex.
Rookie of the Year – Dimitri Cruz, Denton, Tex.
Senior Player of the Year – Keith Lesko, Prosper, Tex.
Pat Patterson – John Burns, Odessa, Tex.

Player of the Year – Graham Fach, Urbana, Ohio
Rookie of the Year – Brent Boho, Colgate, Wis.
Senior Player of the Year – Tom Adcock, Decatur, Ill.
Pat Patterson – Gary Alstott, Washington, Ill.

Player of the Year – Anthony Pepe, Long Island City, NY
Rookie of the Year – Troy Lint, Blandon, Penn.
Senior Player of the Year – Troy Lint, Blandon, Penn.
Pat Patterson – Rick LeChette, Lincoln University, Penn.

Player of the Year – Brandon Curtis, Manson, N.C.
Rookie of the Year – Anthony Marino, Henrico, Va.
Senior Player of the Year – Walter Ray Williams Jr., Oxford, Fla.
Pat Patterson – Charlie Toney, Oak Hill, W Va.

The PBA’s regional program, founded in 1970, provides bowlers with a proving ground to develop their skills in high-level competition against some of the sport’s established stars. The PBA Regional program annually conducts roughly 150 events across the nation and in its Japan Region.

For more information on the PBA Regional Tour and upcoming events, please visit www.pba.com/pba-tour/regional-tour.

About the PBA
The Professional Bowlers Association (PBA) is the world’s preeminent organization dedicated to the sport of bowling and its professional competition, with thousands of members and millions of fans throughout the world. The PBA plays host to bowling’s biggest tournaments from the PBA Tour, PBA Regional Tour, and PBA50 Tour. In 2020, the PBA launched PBA Jr., a club for elite youth bowlers under the age of 17 and the PBA Pinsiders, a membership for fans of the sport. For more information, please visit PBA.com.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s