2016 IBMA Senior Bowler of the Year Winner

Robin RomeoPete Weber

Robin Romeo & Pete Weber


Robin Romeo, Newhall, Calif., and Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo., have been elected Senior Bowlers of the Year for 2016 by the International Bowling Media Association.

Romeo, who has been a dominating force at the USBC Senior Queens and reigning three-time champion has also earned the title of IBMA Senior Female Bowler of the Year for the third consecutive year. Romeo who has high hope for Senior Queens title number four will have to wait until May 23-26, 2017.

“Wow, I’m in shock…I’m speechless. I’m just elated, it’s so exciting. All the hard work that I do throughout the year to stay in shape, practice and to stay on top of my game. It’s something to be rewarded and to win the Senior Queens, it’s just unbelievable. I’m very humbled about it. To still continue to bowl as I have gotten older is more rewarding than when I first started bowling.

There is so many people that you always hear that say there is always a team behind you and I think it all starts with the family support, it starts with my boyfriend Tom who is my ball driller and is always pushing me even on the days that I do not want to go practice. My mom (USBC Hall of Fame member Joan Romeo) and my brothers and sisters.”

Romeo credits her success and longevity to still be able to perform at the highest level to her family and friends. She also credits Storm Bowling Products and VISE Inserts for providing her the tools that she needs.

Weber is always a force on the lanes no matter if he is competing at home, PBA Tour or PBA50. After the 2016 season that Weber had there was no doubt that he would have been crowned the IBMA Senior Male Bowler of the Year. Weber is coming off a six title season which included both the Suncoast Senior U.S. Open and USBC Senior Masters.

“It’s an honor it really is an honor. Anytime you get a Bowler of the Year behind your name it’s an honor. The one thing that I never got was a PBA Player of the Year, I have back-to-back PBA50 Senior Player of the Year and three out of the last four years as the IBMA Male Senior Bowler of the Year that makes me feel really honored. I want to thank my brother Rich for being my coach and watching me and making sure when I leave to a tournament that I am throwing it well. Jim Callahan, Tim Mack and Del Ballard for being my Storm Ball reps out here on tour and making sure that I have the right ball in my hand. I have to give myself a little credit for knowing how to throw the ball. Without the ball reps and Rich I wouldn’t be able to say that that I can accomplish all of this.”

Weber is currently competing in this year’s USBC Masters in Las Vegas. No bowler can perform as well as Weber does, without a solid support group.

IBMA Male Bowlers of the Year

2016 – Pete Weber, St Ann, MO
2015 – Parker Bohn III, Jackson, NJ
2014 – Pete Weber, St. Ann, MO
2013 – Pete Weber, St. Ann, MO
2012 – Walter Ray Williams, Jr., Ocala, FL
2011 – Ron Mohr, Eagle River, AK
2010 – Wayne Webb, Columbus, OH
2009 – Ron Mohr, Eagle River, AK
2008 – Wayne Webb, Sacramento, CA
2007 – Tom Baker, King, NC
2006 – Tom Baker, King, NC
2005 – Tom Baker, King, NC
2004 – Bob Glass, Lawrence, KS
2003 – Bob Glass, Lawrence, KS
2002 – Bob Glass, Lawrence, KS
2001 – Bob Glass, Lawrence, KS
2000 – Bob Glass, Lawrence Park, KS
1999 – Dale Eagle, Lewisville, TX
1998 – Pete Couture, Titusville, FL
1997 – Gary Dickinson, Edmond, OK
1996 – Earl Anthony, Cornelius, WA
1995 – Tommy Evans, Bonaventure, FL
1994 – John Handegard, Las Vegas, NV
1993 – Gary Dickinson, Edmond, OK
1992 – Gene Stus, Allen Park, MI

IBMA Female Bowlers of the Year

2016 – Robin Romeo, Newhall, CA
2015 – Robin Romeo, Newhall, CA
2014 – Tish Johnson
2013 – Lucy Sandelin, Tampa, FL
2012 – Robin Romeo, Newhall, CA
2011 – Paula Vidad, Sun City, CA
2010 – Dana Miller-Mackie, Albuquerque, NM
2009 – Robin Romeo, Newhall, CA
2008 – Lucy Sandelin, Tampa, FL
2007 – (none selected)
2006 – (none selected)
2005 – (none selected)
2004 – Shirley Levens, Titusville, FL
2003 – Shirley Levens, Cocoa, FL
2002 – Shirley Levens, Cocoa, FL
2001 – Fran Deken, Reno, NV
2000 – Linda Kelly, Dayton, OH


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s